The small town of Clun is the largest of the settlements along the valley from where the river rises high in the Clun Forest on the Montgomeryshire border to where it meets the River Teme at Leintwardine. The impressive Norman castle is on the bend of the river and downstream is the ancient packhorse bridge which is the only river crossing.
Historically a thriving commercial centre, Clun is now a town of tradition and tranquility, quieter and more picturesque than Bishop’s Castle, six miles away. But it still offers a wide range of shops and services. There are pubs, newsagents, cafes, butchers, general stores, antique shops, galleries, a garage, B&BS, self-catering accommodation, camping, caravan sites and a youth hostel based in the old mill.
Built in stone in 1195 on the site of an original motte and bailey. Now a ruin and under the care of English Heritage.
CLUN MUSEUM (www.clunmuseum.org.uk)
The museum is on two floors of the Town Hall in the Square, an ancient monument, and once including local flints, Civil War helmets and Clun chairs. It achieved Museums, Libraries & Archives Council Accreditation in 2011.
Open: Tuesdays: 2.00 pm – 5.00 pm, Saturdays: 11.00 am – 1.00 pm 2.00 pm – 5.00 pm, Bank Holiday Mondays and Tuesdays 11.00 am – 1.00 pm 2.00 pm – 5.00 pm
TRINITY HOSPITAL, CLUN
A group of almshouses built in 1614 by the Earl of Northampton. The gardens and grounds only are open to the public.